DIY Deodorant

Hey Y’all!

I’m back, and I’ve got a cool pictorial for you. I finally ran out of my store bought deodorant, and instead of buying more, I decided to try my hand at making my own. I won’t lay complete claim to the recipe, but I did swap out one of the ingredients to add my own special touch. Hope you like!

The Goods

What you’ll need:

  • Coconut Oil, any brand
  • Baking Soda
  • Cornstarch (this was my swap. I used Baby powder instead. It’s cornstarch based, but it’s got aloe vera and vitamin E, plus that yummy baby powder scent that all the fancy store bought stuff has)
  • A vessel to hold your deodorant. I’m recycling an old deodorant tube, but you can just use a mason jar or Tupperware.

Optional:

  • tea tree oil (for anti bacterial properties)
  • essential oils for scent (I skip this because I find the Baking Soda absorbs all the scent anyway, so it’s a bit of a waste)

**Just a quick note. Coconut oil is solid at room temperature,  but turns to liquid just a couple degrees above that. I popped mine into the fridge after all the handling because it was starting to get runny. Also, if your bathroom gets a bit steamy, you may want to consider keeping this in your bedroom. **

Measure out 1/4 cup of baking soda and put it into your mixing bowl/processor

Add in 1/4 cup of cornstarch (Baby Powder)

Add in the Coconut Oil a teaspoon at a time…

Pulse the mixture, or press together with the back of a spoon if you’re using a bowl, adding more coconut oil if needed as you go. You’ll probably end up needing just a bit over a tablespoon.

It should just hold together like wet sand when you’re done. If you’re keeping it in a jar, you may like it a bit creamier for easy application, in which case just add a bit more oil.

Press it into your container of choice and you’re done!

 

9 thoughts on “DIY Deodorant

  1. My goodness friend ! Good you’re here with us! This is fantastic tooo! ~missed you sincerely ~Deborah

  2. Pingback: [Food Stamp Food] Buying Cleaning & Personal Care Items With Food Stamps « crazy dumbsaint of the mind

  3. I love your web page and all the frugal ideas on how to live off of food stamps as I do the same thing. And you are so right that cheap things are usually better for the environment. Thanks so much for taking the time and energy to post these recipes. Carol in VA

  4. I forgot to add another question. Do you think the additon of some beeswax (I have some beeswax candles that someone gave me from freecycle) would make the deoderant harder when it sets?

  5. It’s me again, sorry just one more question: How long would this last out of the fridge? My coconut oil reads: “refrigerate after opening”. Thanks Carol in VA

    • I’m not sure. My coconut oil doesn’t suggest refrigeration, so I didn’t run into this problem. Mine has been residing happily in my bathroom for the past month and is doing perfectly fine. I recommend doing the sniff test every now and then for signs of it going rancid. Hope you enjoy!

  6. Pingback: Cleaning & Personal Care Products You Can Make With SNAP Purchased Ingredients | Poor as Folk

Leave a Reply

