My Tummy Hurts :(

…And it has for years.

 

The following will not be for the squeamish. It also may be a bit TMI for those of you who have absolutely no interest in the inner workings of other people.

Those who have been following my blog already know that I’ve been on a weight loss journey. One of the major ways I’m changing my life is by cutting out wheat and dairy. Here’s why. For the last 4-5 years I have had crippling diarrhea. Gut turning, cramping, make you sweat, burning diarrhea. (I warned you about the TMI)

It’s been so bad, that I’ve sighed with relief at the luxury of just “sorta loose” movements. I have no idea what is causing this. I’ve been tested for parasites and celiac disease, both negative. My doctor says it “doesn’t sound like” crohns or colitis. I have fissures and hemorrhoids and have to go in for a colonoscopy in two months. I’m just 28 years old. I’m also supposed to take a drug called cholestramine for the rest of my life. It’s actually for people with bad cholesterol, but it’s shown to be effective for diarrhea control. I don’t want to be on medication for the rest of my life.

Which brings me back to my dietary changes. I have no idea what is causing my GI problems, but I do know that I feel better on a high plant, mainly raw diet. I have to remain at least 75% raw to maintain comfortable bowel function. Higher to actually feel normal. For the most part, this hasn’t been so bad. As long as I stick to raw fruits and vegetables I’m fine. No hidden ingredients or preservatives. No fine print on labels. Sometimes, though, I drop my guard, and I eat a lazy food.

(Putting on my ranty pants)

WHY THE HELL IS THE FOOD INDUSTRY SOOOO IN LOVE WITH WHEAT AND DAIRY??!!!

I sent my husband to get me a treat. I had to ask him, because If I had left the house I would have gorged myself on Dairy Queen. He found freeze dried veggie straws. Not deep fried, no added fat, organic, “all natural”. I was treating myself with a nice crunchy no-work snack. Oh they were yummy. Just the right amount of salt to crunch ratio. I had a tiny, child-size bowl and it was glorious.

Cut to today, after 14 trips to the bathroom. Finally, after perusing a mental list of foods I ate yesterday I determined that those damned veggie straws were the likely culprit. I ran downstairs, grabbed the bag, and THIS is what I found:

Granted, I should have checked the package before I ate the veggie sticks. That being said, Why, in the name of all that is good, is there wheat and milk in a vegetable product?! Why does the food industry hate me? I’m going to have to eat broccoli and celery sticks for the rest of my life, aren’t I?

(Removing Ranty Pants)

If anyone out there has any good “junk food” that won’t have me taking up residence in the lavatory for days on end, I’d really appreciate it.

Well, gotta run 😦

3 thoughts on “My Tummy Hurts :(

  1. Wheat and dairy are versatile and bring in the big bucks! Good luck on finding a gluten-free, non dairy snack. I’m sure there’s something delicious out there. And, I can relate… sort of. Milk is definitely my ‘all natural’ (ha) colon cleanser and wheat makes me bloated to the point of looking 4 or 5 months preggers. lol You are not alone. 🙂

  2. For a crunchy, dairy-free, gluten-free snack you can try pork rinds. Sometimes they’re like eating styrofoam peanuts, other times they satisfy my salty, crunchy needs.

  3. I have tummy issues too. Recently I have decided to go wheat free and have found it an ENORMOUS challenge. It definitely encourages me to eat foods in their natural state. Anyways….have you ever tried the baked Kettle chips? Although I am not 100% certain…I believe they may be a good satisfying crunchy snack for you.

Leave a Reply

